DISCOVER
   THE ADVENTURE
          OF MARYSVALE

Home
Up
Stop 1 - The Toll Road
Stop 2 - The Mill Stables
Stop 3 - Witt Tates Mine
Stop 4 - The Dalton Mill
Stop 5 - The Arrastra
Stop 6 - Bullion City
Stop 7 - Gibbs Cabin Site
Stop 8 - The Bully Boy Mill
Stop 9 - The Miners Park
Gold Facts & References
Acknowledgments

Contact the
Webmaster
Copyright
       

 

 

WWW.ATVUTAH.COM

 
 
 

 

Stop 3 - Witt Tates Mine

The log buildings on both sides of the road were built by a prospector named Witt Tate sometime around 1920.  Tate constructed the cabin and out-buildings to support his mining operation in the rocky ledges on the north side of the canyon.

Tate raised a one-room log cabin, a barn with a hayloft, a storage shed, an outhouse and log fences.  trails and a wagon road, which led to the "workings" can be seen behind the cabin.

Tate was intrigued by this area of the canyon because he had found small traces of lead and silver in layers of sandstone and quartz in the cliffs above the road.

Gold is almost always associated with lead and silver and this alloy or combination of metals is always found with quartz.  Millions of years ago, volcanic magma and mineralized fluids pushed up through the layers of the earth.  Pockets of gold, lead and silver were left behind with quartz in the sandstone of Bullion Canyon.

Witt Tate has been described as a successful miner.

Stop 4 is 1.75 miles past the trailhead
Next Page [ Stop 4 - Dalton Mill & Boarding House ]

[ Back to previous page ] [ Back To Marysvale Home Page ]

[ Back to previous page ] [ Back To Marysvale Home Page ]

 


1996-2016 by Bushman Web Services.
Please read our
Copyright. All Rights Reserved
  

Back to the Top of the page

A Bushman Web Services CreationThis Page was last updated Thursday, June 23, 2016 - The NEW Marysvale.org as of 2-16-2003