DISCOVER
   THE ADVENTURE
          OF MARYSVALE

Home
Up
Stop 1 - The Toll Road
Stop 2 - The Mill Stables
Stop 3 - Witt Tates Mine
Stop 4 - The Dalton Mill
Stop 5 - The Arrastra
Stop 6 - Bullion City
Stop 7 - Gibbs Cabin Site
Stop 8 - The Bully Boy Mill
Stop 9 - The Miners Park
Gold Facts & References
Acknowledgments

Contact the
Webmaster
Copyright
       

 

 

WWW.ATVUTAH.COM

 
 
 

 

Stop 1 - The Toll Road

In mining communities, it was often the enterprising people of the time who struck it rich.  They became wealthy not by swinging a pick or hefting a shovel but by providing services to the miners.  Shovels could cost $50 and bartenders often made hundreds or even thousands of dollars profit on a single barrel of whiskey.

In 1869, several men built the first road into Bullion Canyon and then set up a toll station.  At this time there were several rich claims being worked in the canyon and it was now possible to haul ore by wagon.. To the dismay of the toll road operators, the miners built a second road into the canyon to avoid paying a toll their teamsters considered unreasonable.

This second road closely follows the same route we drive today.  The remains of the toll road are visible on the right side of the road (north) and lie 25 feet above this stop.  Look for short, graded sections of roadbed now overgrown with oak.  The course of this old road can be seen from this spot for a distance of about 150 feet up and down the canyon.  All of these early roads were built by pick, shovel and dynamite.

Stop 2 is .85 miles past the trailhead
Next Page [ Stop 2 - The Mill Stables ]

[ Back to previous page ] [ Back To Marysvale Home Page ]


1996-2016 by Bushman Web Services.
Please read our
Copyright. All Rights Reserved
  

Back to the Top of the page

A Bushman Web Services CreationThis Page was last updated Thursday, June 23, 2016 - The NEW Marysvale.org as of 2-16-2003